A single figure small

This exercise looks at how by placing a small figure in the frame the figure is more of an accent than a portrait (similar exercise to the “single point” in the Art of photography module).  I enjoyed working on this exercise and although the brief suggests it may be easier to arrange for a friend to be the figure, I decided to take the more challenging route by keeping a look out for suitable opportunities to take advantage of.

Firstly I found a photograph from last year’s holiday and included it here. In this shot the viewer spots the figure immediately, so there is no surprise reaction, but I do think it creates a sense of space – lone figure, big sky and vast open desert.

P1080660 - Copy

 

The next three shots were an experiment.

DSC_2715

Above: A bridge across the gorge dominates the image. A small figure lurks in the bottom right-hand corner, not immediately obvious, therefore the delayed reaction adds interest to the  image.

DSC_2723

The same figure. Although not identifiable certainly more prominent due to position and contrast.

DSC_2717

For me this image is the strongest of the three. The eye is first drawn along the river…. then the figure is spotted climbing out of the frame.

 

DSC_2487

I find this image a little disturbing. For some reason it reminds me of a psychological thriller or one of those films where a child is possessed, however I’m sure that’s not the case! The figure caught my attention because the little girl was stood so still and upright – for quite some time, and although we cannot see her face it appears as though she is staring into the water. Again a dominant location and extreme size relationship work together to create interest and arouse curiosity.

P1110555

 

Here I have used the setting as a distraction, there is a delay before the figure is seen.

 

 

