Close and involved

Now to the other extreme. Using the widest angle I have, concentrate on moving in close to people. The aim is to achieve a sense of putting the viewer right inside the situation – as I will inevitably be! One of the things  I have noticed when shooting wide angle is that it is much easier to take these kind of images when I’m in a busy area or a  tourist spot, so that people don’t notice me. The images below have been selected from many I took  in York.

Of the above I particularly like the following shots.

015    093

The viewer is pulled right in to the centre of the busy scene. The shot to the right was taken with Martin Parr in mind – a typical British view!!

104    107

Contemplation……

065

 

close

I shot these two images because I observed role reversal. The young girl appears to be taking a mature and responsible approach to the situation – pushing the pram and carrying bags. She looks back at her mother having a playful time with the toddler.

 

What have I learnt? I noted the effect of a wide angle lens in that the background seems stretched and detail is visible, this appears to add dynamic and gives context to the subjects in the images.

I gradually built up the confidence to get in close and shoot even though at times I was aware that I was fairly obvious to the public. Initially I wore my camera around my neck and shot from the midriff! However I was not achieving accuracy so I took the tip from the brief and raised the camera to my eye shot and quickly lowered it again avoiding eye contact with my subject, this seemed to work well. I did not feel as though I was invading my subjects’ privacy as much as I did when zooming in from across the street like the Paparazzi!

 

 

 

 

