2014 The art of photography

January/February

Walker Ellis

For my fourth assignment “Light” I called upon the help of James (a work colleague of my husband’s). James Walker is a photographer mainly in connection with industrial, commercial and  advertising. The advantage for me is that he has a small studio equipped with professional lighting! I was able to take advantage of this (with his help in setting up), and his vast knowledge of lighting techniques.

June

A friend and I had a trip to London to the National Portrait Gallery to view David Bailey’s exhibition “Stardust”. (See exhibition tab)

 

July/August

During our road trip to the south west of USA we visited the amazing Getty Center in Los Angeles. The Museum and art galleries are positioned high up above the city in a lush green setting with beautiful grounds and gardens. The architectural design was stunning and therefore ideal for photography.

IMG_0005Whilst there we viewed the Ansel Adams gallery displaying some of his famous Yosemite images. Later in our trip we visited Yosemite and I did my best to reproduce Adams’ black and white  effects.

 

November

Open Eye Gallery in Liverpool

I couldn’t make the OCA Study Visit dates, so I went with a friend to see the Robert Heinecken exhibition “Lessons in Posing Subjects”.  (see exhibition tab)

IMG_0002

 

 

