Assignment five – Illustration and narrative

Photograph layout

The title of my magazine photo essay is “Your Carriage awaits….and waits”.

 

OCA assignment 5 p1

magazine front cover

OCA assignment 5p2

title page

OCA assignment 5p3

page 2

OCA assignment 5 gresley

page 3

OCA assignment 5p5

page 4

013

final page – “bleed” image

 

Magazine layout

 

OCA assignment 5 p1

magazine front cover

Untitled1a

double page spread (1)

Untitled3

double page spread (2)

closer page

closer page

Reflection

 I enjoyed this piece of work immensely,  it has been an enjoyable challenge. I have created some images I am very pleased with. In some ways it has felt rushed as I needed to do everything before my holiday and my two year deadline. With a bit more time I might have taken a more diverse series of shots.
Following the brief I have tried to be more subject focused and less arty, although with this particular story, I feel the more creative shots are necessary to hold the reader/viewer attention for longer. What I did not want, was a photo essay geared towards railway enthusiasts!

Throughout this module and assignment I have definitely understood more about how the power of photography tells a story. My research from simply flicking through magazines to looking at the work of New Zealand photographer Brian Brake and reading Michael Freeman’s “The Photographer’s Story” has ultimately led me to think more about how images can tell a story. I wanted the images to do the bulk of the narrative and use minimum text – to include more text would perhaps have turned it into an essay with pictures, and opposed to a photographic narrative.

I feel the assignment does successfully demonstrate what I have learnt across the course – without me ‘forcing’ any of the elements into the images. There is contrast and cohesion in terms of colour across the pages. I have composed the images and arranged them on the pages to illustrate relationships between them (juxtaposition) and to lead the reader through and around the images. I have also used a combination of the different elements of design.

Although my finished article did not tell a story from beginning to end, the narrative was contained within the images, so that sequencing was not so crucial, allowing the viewer to wander around the shots using their own memories to relate to the subject.

